Kitchen: Before and after

I think some time ago I posted some before and after pictures of the kitchen…..but I think the floor was covered and we had yet to unpack.  Since I haven’t posted anything in a long while, I thought I would share these before and after photos.  I LOVE our kitchen.  LOVE.

I know I probably don’t have to say it, but these are “before”.  ;-)

AND…..after.

18 Comments on “Kitchen: Before and after”

  1. curt says:

    Fantastic renovation! Very smart design. You have a timeless kitchen!

  2. Gerlind says:

    Your kitchen is gorgeous !

  3. Kristina says:

    What a gorgeous kitchen! I love everything about it; the colors, the cabinets with the cutouts on top, the simple edge on the granite counters, the faucet, the SPACE! Wow, nice job!

  4. Manal says:

    Love your oven! What brand is it if you don’t mind me asking?

  5. Cindy says:

    I just came across this I love the brick paint you did it looks great. I have been searching for something like this for a year now. Please tell me the steps you used to “black wash” I really need to update mine also. My brick is reddish orange and I want it dark exactly like yours!!

    Thanks

    • mereslops says:

      Hi Cindy,

      We just used paint and water. It was that simple. I mixed 25 percent of the black trim paint we used on the house with 75 percent water and brushed it on. If you want the brick darker, use more paint….lighter, use less. It will go on like a stain so be prepared to mop up the drips and runs or it will leave marks on the brick. Kind of tedious but the results were worth it. We sealed it with a brick sealer when we were done so that it wouldn’t fade. Good luck!

      R

      • Cindy says:

        I took a couple bricks and tried it, looks a bit purple. I did a water based flat black, and mixed it like you suggested. What kind of paint did you use? I hope I can achieve this look its beautiful!
        Thanks

      • mereslops says:

        Hi Cindy. Sorry, just seeing this now. We just used regular black exterior paint. Our brick had a bit of an orange tone so perhaps the warm and the cold worked well. Maybe you have a cool colored brick that needs softening with a warmer color? If that is the case, try a dark brownish grey or a dark brown?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.